Hap-py Blogiversary!

Yep, I made it to 100 posts!  And thanks to all of you who have been reading along and commenting, we also cracked the 300 comments mark!  It’s been quite a year.

One of the things I like best about reading people’s blogs is that they can chart amazing transformations in people’s lives in such short periods of time.  When I find bloggers who have similar interests and goals to mine, I am inspired to see what they accomplish and how their lives evolve.

I never thought I’d have a record like that for my own life, and it’s very rewarding to be able to look back and see some big shifts over this last year.  It’s even more rewarding to have those same bloggers that I follow commenting and creating supportive networks that help us all move forward on our journeys.

This mini blogging marathon has also taught me a few things these last couple of weeks.

Writing almost every day has been good for my other writing projects.  I never quite belived that writing a journal or morning pages was that useful for me when it came to my other writing; I often felt like the time I spent journalling got the writing bug out of my system for the day and allowed me to procrastinate better!  But I think blogging has been more effective because, for me, it’s not a journal per se.  I’m not just recording what I’ve done each day; I’m working through the ideas that preoccupy me and trying to put them into some kind of logical order for others to read.  In fact, (as you probably noticed for better or ill) I’m writing mini-essays.  I have an academic paper to write this week, and I’m feeling better prepared than I ever have to write it, because of all this practice.  As I haven’t written an academic paper in a few years now, I’m really feeling the value of that–I know what it feels like when those skills are rusty!

On the other hand, I don’t think at this point that I’ll keep up with posting so often.  Not because I’m tired of the self-imposed pressure; I clearly have a busy mind, and I haven’t run out of things to write about yet!  But because when I do craft one of those deeper posts, I think there’s some value both for me and for others to have it sit out there for a little while.  My readership is up a little from the consistent posting, but comments have been down.  I know I don’t have time to read and comment on blogs every day the way I used to, and I suspect I’m not alone.  Sitting down to catch up with a favorite blog and wading through a pile of posts each week is not only a little daunting, but it makes me feel like the conversation has passed and I keep my responses to myself.  I like the rhythm and space to reflect that comes with posting once or twice a week.

On another note, it feels like there’s a kind of synergy in the air these days.  My passions are coming together and becoming more and more concrete; I can’t wait to see where they lead next!  When I started this blog a year ago, I was contemplating a forced career change, and wanted this space to be writing practice and a potential food hub page for the Cowichan Valley.  I expected to be posting a little about my own backyard garden, sharing recipes, but also reporting on food events, restaurant reviews, and culture in the wider backyard of my community.

But in these last months, what I’ve realized more than anything is that I’m not content to be a detached “reporter” of others’ efforts to build food community in the valley.  I want to do it too!  I don’t want just to write about food production and admirable young farmers, I want to be a food producer myself–I want to get my own hands dirty! 🙂

So watch for some big changes over the coming year, both to my life and to the blog.  I have a vision taking shape, and I’ll be working on a new website to reflect that vision.  Thanks so much, once again, for reading and following along!

9 thoughts on “Hap-py Blogiversary!

  1. Congrats! Can’t believe how much you’ve written in one year. That’s dedication.

    Here’s to another year of posts!

    Maeve

  2. I can totally relate to the feeling of blogging more and less frequently and having time to catch up on/comment on other people’s blogs. I try not to let it go too long (I follow about a dozen blogs) between posting myself or reading the others. Sometimes there simply isn’t time!

    Happy Blogiversary Toni!

  3. Congrats on your 100th post!

    I totally understand about time retraints… especially springtime. Gardens, chicks, grass – the real world demands more of our time now!

  4. Congratulations! You’ve been blogging like crazy lately and I can see how it would be hard to keep that up. You’ll have more time to get your hands dirty this way, which is what it sounds like you really want anyway. I look forward to reading your future posts!

Leave a Reply

