Spring Blogging Goals

Well, I can’t quite belive it, but I am getting close to my one year blog-iversary!  May 13, 2010 I posted my first entry, creatively entitled, “Spring!” (or was it “May!”).  Incidentally, it will be interesting to compare garden notes with those May entries–the local garden expert was on the radio today confirming that we are 3 weeks behind average because of cold temps this spring.

At any rate, stats-wise, I’m pretty happy with how this blogging year has gone.  But a month or so back, I realized that I was creeping up to 100 posts.  And I thought, “Wouldn’t it be good to have done 100 posts in a year?”  Somehow, this would average out to blogging once every 3-4 days, which seems admirable, and might mitigate my long absences lately!  Now, with just a couple of weeks to go, my total posts (which I’m cheating a little, because I think that number includes drafts that I never posted, but there aren’t many of those) sit at 86.

I taught my last class of the semester this morning, and for the next 2 weeks, I’ll be marking, gardening, and getting ready for an upcoming trip.  If I’m going to attempt the 100 post mark by my anniversary, then this is as good a time as any.  So that means I’m setting myself a wee spring blogging goal: 14 posts (13 after this one!) in 15 days!

Now that’s asking a lot from someone who’s barely been posting once a week.  But I’m up for the challenge!  As it happens, there’s lots going on to blog about.  We’ve got a cold frame up over our new raised beds, seedlings ready to be transplanted, chicks about to be integrated with the older flock outside, a new flower bed just created, a herb bed in need of creating, morning glory threatening to take over our back 40 once again.  And, perhaps most fruitful, I’m reading Sharon Astyk’s thought-provoking book, Depletion and Abundance: Life on the New Home Front.  So stay tuned for more posts on wrestling with living in the present while preparing for an uncertain future (is there any other kind?).

And thanks to my friend Stacey, over at YarnSalad, for tagging me with the “Versatile Blogger Award” meme–you’ve given me something to get me started with tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “Spring Blogging Goals

  1. Congratulations on the anniversary – and I will happily read as many posts as you feel inspired to write!

    I have just finished Depletion and Abundance – I first read Independence Days, and was so taken by Astyk’s blend of practicality and community-mindedness that I picked up D&A. I am having such a wrestling match with myself about what self-sufficiency means to me, and what my earthquake kit should look like, and how I should manage food storage, and how much I should be worrying about all that’s going wrong in the world. And I am so uncomfortable with anything that puts me in the same camp as gun-toting survivalists! I have no answers for myself, beyond the really good water filter I added to our earthquake kit and the goal of 3 months worth of food storage (1 down, 2 to go). So I am really looking forward to what you have to say about it all.

  2. Thanks Stace. Yes, I think spring is finally here..I’ll blog about some of the evidence around me!

    Miriam, be careful what you wish for–as you can see my first post; you’ve been tagged! (I’ll contact you outside of my comments box too). And thanks for sharing your thoughts on Depletion and Abundance. Somewhere in my archives I have a series called “On Self-Sufficiency” where I worked through some of my thoughts and feelings. But sure enough, Astyk is giving me more to think about…again. Good for you for all your steps so far–we were certainly motivated to get our earthquake kit together after Japan hit, but we have yet to actually do it. 😦

Leave a Reply

