Surprise!

Yes, you probably heard; it snowed.

We don’t get much snow here in the Valley.  More than in Victoria, Vancouver, or Seattle, it’s true, but just like in those places, it usually melts within a day.  Victoria is notorious for selling its snow removal equipment one year (the year before a big dump, of course!).  Folks around here just stay inside for a day until the snow melts.  It sounds wimpy, I know, but I’ve put in my time in Edmonton (northern Alberta) and Montreal.  I’ve paid my dues!

It’s not like this was a surprise.  The weather-people were predicting below-freezing temperatures and some flurries.  I added a piece of poly over my row cover-covered carrots, lettuce, and spinach, and decided at the last minute to throw a piece of poly over my chard and kale.  The brassica patch I figured could take a hard frost and maybe a brief coat of snow.  I left them alone.

4 days well below freezing and almost 8 inches of snow later….

Purple Sprouting Broccoli? Galleon Cauliflower?
Sir Broccoli with Snow Hat

The trees in the background there?  Those are our apple trees.  Notice that they still have leaves on them!!!

Here’s my carrot/lettuce/spinach patch…it was doing so well…. sigh.

What you can’t see is that under all that snow, on top of the poly, is about an inch of ice!

I’m a little worried about my garlic.  Some I planted in October, and it was already sprouting through its mulch.  A second batch I planted about a week before this.  They say to plant garlic about 6 weeks before a hard frost.  Usually in a raised bed with some leaf mulch, that gives us until about November 15!  With so long to go until spring, I’m hoping at least some of it will be fine… and I know the brassicas will likely bounce back, and even the spinach might in the spring.

On the plus side, this probably killed the annual weeds and weakened my creeping buttercup severely.  And, unable to work outside, I was forced to take a few days off to cuddle up inside and just relax.  Skipper got a surprise day off too, so we had some fun around the house.  It hasn’t been all bad!

And besides, it’s pretty.  And it should be gone by the weekend.  Right?

5 thoughts on “Surprise!

  1. It’s beautiful! Don’t worry about your garlic or your carrots they’ll be fine. Here in New England, I’ve planted garlic in late November just days before a snow storm with no problems. It sprouts during our January thaw sometimes, only to be covered in snow for 2 more months. Carrots are similar. Enjoy the beauty, it won’t last long!

  2. Here in the UK this winter we had -17C at 1pm for days plus 2ft of snow. My Purple Sprouting Broccoli looked fine at first, but after 2 weeks of thaw, it hasn’t survived. The thick main stems have gone to mush. This is the first winter that I have lost the crop and I was so looking forward to my first taste.
    On the other hand, the Arucola, whose seeds I brought back from a rainwater harvesting trip to Southern Italy, has survived magnificently and is growing back vigorously from the base. The Italians told me that it would never survive in the UK!

    1. Those are unbelievable temps for the UK; I’m amazed that anything survived at all! Good to find out what’s really hardy. And thanks for another great story about the gardener’s mantra, “it’s worth a try!”

Leave a Reply

