The Forest and the Trees

When I look over the garden each day, I am filled with joy.  Everything looks green and lush, the peas are coming up nicely, there is a mature perennial bed that seems to grow inches every day, the sun is shining, the birds are singing and nesting…it feels like paradise.

But there are details here and there that are worrying.  I noticed several weeks ago that the apple trees didn’t seem to be blooming right; the flowers didn’t seem to be opening fully and the leaves seemed curled up.  Some buds were turning brown before even opening.  After some research, I discovered that this was the common wet climate pest, powdery mildew.  Aack!  I’ve got some organic spray to use, and I’ve been waiting for a wind-less, rain-less day ever since to apply it.

Powdery mildew won’t kill the tree, and it is a regular issue in these parts.  But as the apples really leaf out, I’m thinking we won’t get a lot of fruit this year.  I can’t imagine that enough flowers opened fully enough and went through their pollination and other life cycles to get the kind of crop we got last year.  But that might be ok.  We’re learning!  Next time I’ll start spraying earlier.

I’ve got roses with black spot and some yellow leaves, and I think I am going to get the iron chelate foliar spray for the raspberries.  And did I mention the weeds?!  A future post of their own….Time to step back and admire the big picture a little more, I think!

2 thoughts on “The Forest and the Trees

Leave a Reply

